Getting to Know the All-New Photobucket Mobile App for Android: Auto Backup

Posted by on Dec 9, 2013 in Feature Updates, Help & Support | 6 Comments

Don’t have the app? Get it!

AUTO BACKUP


Our new Auto Backup feature makes securing your mobile photos a breeze. Auto Backup will automatically upload each new photo you take to a new album in your Photobucket library. The album will be private by default, so nobody else can see your images.

To enable auto backup, first tap the Photobucket icon in the top left corner of the screen. This will open up your menu. Now tap Backup.

Screenshot_2013-11-08-08-47-07.png

Tapping Get Started will immediately begin the backup process.

Screenshot_2013-11-08-08-49-23.png

This will begin uploading all photos and videos on your phone into the album Mobile Uploads, in your Photobucket account.

1AUTO.png

Instead of uploading all your stored photos into one album, the Photobucket app will conveniently sort your photos into new albums by year/month.

2013-11-08_10_18_47-PB_duckface_s_bucket.png

 

ADJUSTING BACKUP SETTINGS


You can always turn Auto Backup on/off, or adjust when you’d like to automatically backup your photos – either only when connected to wifi, or over the air (using your data plan).

First, open up your menu by tapping the Photobucket icon in the top left corner of the screen. Tap settings.

Screenshot_2013-11-08-08-47-07.png

Now tap Auto Backup.

Screenshot_2013-11-08-08-49-57.png

Tap Auto Backup to turn backup on/off.

Screenshot_2013-11-08-08-50-31.png

Once Auto Backup has been enabled, tap Wi-Fi Only to allow backup only over a wifi network (this option will not use your data plan and only begin backing up your photos once connected to a wifi network).

Unchecking this option allows the app to backup your images at any time (this option will use your data plan if not connected to a wifi network).

Screenshot_2013-11-08-08-50-34.png

 

Please note - uninstalling and reinstalling the Photobucket app will cause auto backup to begin uploading all photos on your phone, regardless of whether they have already been uploaded previously. 

6 Comments

  1. Steven J Dinsmoor
    November 19, 2014

    Does it upload in FULL resolution?

    Does it backup video and/or in full size?

    Reply
  2. Scott Brabson
    November 19, 2014

    We do store originals, but we only link out at a maximum of 1024×768.

    Reply
  3. Misty
    November 22, 2014

    If all my photos are backed up on the app, and I delete them off my phone..do they stay uploaded in the app so I can view them on a PC from my account?? Or do they delete off my account if I delete them off my phone?

    Reply
    • Hannah Moorhead
      November 24, 2014

      Hello Misty,

      Photos that are uploaded to your Photobucket account will remain there even if you delete the photos off your phone. The only way your Photobucket photos will be deleted is if you sign in to your Photobucket account and delete them there.

      Reply
  4. Denise
    December 6, 2014

    How do you DELETE them from auto back up? I never wanted it & it keeps backing up EVERYTHING in my phone.

    Reply
    • Hannah Moorhead
      December 8, 2014

      Hello Denise,

      When you are in the photobucket app, click on the menu in the top left hand corner, then click on “backup”, then turn auto backup “off”.

      Reply

Leave a Reply