Keeping your photo links safe online

 

You may have seen the articles talking about "fusking" or the ability to gain access to private images on Photobucket. Protecting your privacy is paramount at Photobucket so we wanted to clarify what that means for those of you unfamiliar with the term and share how you can add a layer of protection. 

Unless you’ve renamed your photos, your image names likely follow a consistent format, such as IMG_1939.JPG, IMG_1940.JPG, IMG_1941.JPG. If you have a Private album with default photo file names and you share the link to one of the photos in that Private album, it could be possible for someone to guess the link to other photos in that same Private album, since the files have a similar name. If they guess the exact link, they may be able to see that photo even though you never shared the link with them.

Photobucket monitors suspicious activity to track for possible fuskers. However the easiest way to protect your content is to  scramble the links to your photos and videos. Unless you have a need to preserve your original file names, as some of our users do, we recommend that you select this option to scramble both past and future uploads.  

The option to scramble has been available for some time, but we realize that not all users were aware of this feature. Here are step by step instructions on how to scramble your existing links http://photobucket.zendesk.com/entries/21822222. On new accounts, scrambling will be the default setting.

Your privacy is paramount to our company and we strive to provide comprehensive, secure privacy options that satisfy all user types and needs. Please let us know if you have any questions.

Thank you,
Tom Munro
CEO 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>